Kazakh Senate ratifies Convention on Legal Status of the Caspian Sea

31 January, 2019, 12:55 1624
Kazakh Senate ratifies Convention on Legal Status of the Caspian Sea

The Convention lays down the rules on the use of the Caspian Sea in peaceful purposes. 

The Senate of Parliament has passed Kazakhstan’s draft law on ratification of the Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea, BNews.kz correspondent reports.

It has been reported that the document specifies the basic rules of the activities of the coastal States on the Sea, delineating the national zones, jurisdiction, and sovereignty, the order of exploiting its subsoil, navigation, fishery, marine scientific research, cooperation in the field of security, the rational use of its biological resources and marine environmental protection.

“In accordance with the Convention, the resolution of the issues relating to the Caspian Sea is within the purview of the coastal States’ competence only. The presence of the vessels flying the flags of non-Caspian States as well as these of non-coastal States’ Armed Forces is not allowed. The maritime area was demarcated into internal waters, territorial waters 15 miles wide, fishery zones 10 nautical miles wide and an adjacent water area. The outer limits of the territorial waters have the status of maritime state borders. Within the fishery zones, each State enjoys the exclusive fishing rights. There is freedom of navigation of the vessels flying the flags of the coastal States in the adjacent water area,” said Kazakh Foreign Minister Beibut Atamkulov during a plenary meeting of the Senate.

Floor and bowel demarcation issues on the Caspian Sea is agreed between the neighboring and opposite States through separate agreements between them.

“The Caspian Sea’s environmental system and its all components are under the full protection. Any activity in the Sea shall not harm the marine environment and bio-diversity. In order to implement the Convention efficiently, a social mechanism of regular five-party consultations, the high-level Working Group on the Caspian Sea at the deputy foreign ministers level are being created,” said Atamkulov.

The Convention is of indefinite duration.

Note, on August 12, 2018, the Heads of the Caspian States (Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Iran, Russia, and Turkmenistan) signed the fundamental international treaty - the Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea – during the 5th Caspian Summit in the city of Aktau.

Читайте также

Похожие новости